Drew Brees and the Playoffs

Who says nice guys finish last?

Okay, sure, in this weekend’s playoff game I hope he plays fabulously well and comes in a strong second to Brett Favre and my Vikings, but in all other aspects Drew Brees is already a winner in my book. Why?

From being injured and traded to being named NFL Player of the Year,
Saints quarterback Drew Brees has come to see God’s hand in everything.[1]

In everything?

  • In being passed over in the first round of the NFL draft because he wasn’t tall enough, strong enough, or knew enough about complex offensive schemes?
  • In being replaced in 2003 after a strong 2002 season?
  • In working his butt off to take his team from 4-12 in 2003 to 1st place in the AFC West in 2004—only to be replaced again before the next season even started?

And what about when the shoulder of his throwing arm was seriously injured? In the last game of the 2005 season? When he received a late and very questionable hit? Would it be career ending? His response?

But I very quickly snapped out of it and realized this is happening for a reason, and I’m going to turn this into a positive. [God] wouldn’t let me face it if I couldn’t handle it.

I don’t know that I would have “seen God’s hand” in that, especially when team management goes on to show they really have no confidence in you or your abilities. Okay, Brees admits he was “devastated,” but he also says,

A year later I looked back and said, “That was probably the best thing that happened to me.”

Huh?

When he signed with the Saints, he moved his wife to a New Orleans still rankling and devastated from Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath. He bought and rebuilt a house, then raised millions of dollars to help the area recover.

And he finally announced publicly that he had suffered an estrangement from his mother during the previous years, but he was hopeful their relationship was improving. Hopeful.

Why was he hopeful?

You know what? I want to be one of those, ‘few good men.’ I really accepted Jesus Christ into my heart.

He admits that during 2004 training camp he tearfully and prayerfully asked God for strength.

Drew relied on Proverbs 3:6: “In all your ways acknowledge him, and HE will make your paths straight.”

That’s the perfect foundation for reasonable hope.


[1] this and the following quotations are from: Sean Jensen. “Strong Brees” in Sports Spectrum Magazine. Jan/Feb 2010. 34-39.  Other information gleaned from wikipedia.com.

One thought on “Drew Brees and the Playoffs

  1. Laura Brown Tuesday, 9 March 2010 at 12:36 Reply

    Hey Christine!
    Thanks for sending this to me. It’s great. Don’t have time to read all of it, but it’s in my favorites now. I enjoy reading your work and will continue to. Writing has been something I loved before life got busy, but I’m starting to pick up my pen more and more. May someday even move to a keyboard. Thanks for sharing!
    In His Love,
    Laura

Leave a Reply

